Spektrum power safe power box combo

For items about gas turbine, IC and Electric powered jets, engines and systems

Moderator: Dick Spreadbury

andywynn
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:31 am

Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby andywynn » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:44 pm

Hi
I am putting a Spektrum 12300T rx in my ripmax hunter. Has anyone used one of these with a powerbox sensor switch or is that over kill?
Thanks in advance for your help

Andy

Dave Wilshere
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby Dave Wilshere » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:10 pm

The Sensor switch is 5A max constant load (shared both outputs) so only 2.5A each. Your rx is able to cope with much more current. I would also say the Sensor Switch is right on the limit in a Ripmax Hunter, I'd put a Gemini II in it if it was mine. 12A max (6A each output)

Dave

andywynn
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:31 am

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby andywynn » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:10 pm

Thanks for the reply Dave.
Would it be best to not have the powerbox or not ? Im not familiar withis type of setup so any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Andy

Dave Wilshere
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby Dave Wilshere » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:28 pm

What ever voltage you put in comes out to the servos, so some sort of regulator is needed unless you are a Luddite American running NiMHs
I would use a Gemini, it gives you two protected, regulated supplies, either at 5.9v or 7.4v

Best regards

Dave

andywynn
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:31 am

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby andywynn » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:59 pm

Thanks for the reply Dave. I ll be in touch in the new year

David Gladwin
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby David Gladwin » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:32 am

I was very surprised to hear that a Sensor is considered marginal for a Hunter.

I use the sensor on several models, some bigger than a Hunter, with more servos, even on my BVM F 4.

My Weatronic receivers monitor and record voltage, some receivers record currents .

Never seen a voltage drop of more than .1 v.

On a Hunter, no problem!

Dave Wilshere
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby Dave Wilshere » Tue Dec 11, 2018 3:11 pm

Your F-4 has no powerbox unit? Just a switch...

David Gladwin
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Spektrum power safe power box combo

Postby David Gladwin » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:07 pm

The original question was about the Powerbox sensor switch.

With 9 models equipped with these units I know the switch can easily cope .

The F4 , Reaction, 2 Sabres, 2 Bobcats, Paritech DG 303, Big Blanik, and Revision all fly with sensor switches and Weatronic receivers which measure voltage, never a problem.

I have measured current and voltages for models which now use sensors, ( using the big Weatronic receivers) even my SkyGate Hawk and Airworld Hawks, average about 3 amps with higher spikes, uses less current than the specs of the Sensor allow ! Plus a Eurosport with 10 servos.


Based on that experience the sensor switch looks perfect for the proposed application.

Empirical data !


Return to “Jets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests